My Trip to Some Movie and TV Filming Locations

Times Square, New York City

Times Square, New York City

Recently I was able to spend a week in New York on my honeymoon. Me and my wife Lisa got to see plenty of what Manhattan has to offer and even took a road trip one day into New Jersey and Pennsylvania. And while we were there to see the usual tourists attractions (Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, Etc.), she allowed me to explore my inner geek and check out some awesome filming locations for some of my favorite movies and television shows.

So many movies and television shows were shot in Times Square. From Sex and the City to Friday the 13th: Part VIII (well, at least about 5 minutes of it) to NCIS and NYPD, many movies and shows have been filmed in this area. It’s beautiful, so why wouldn’t crews want to film there. But I wanted to dig a little deeper. Find some actual buildings and more specific locations. And I think we did a pretty good job. Check it out.

Spider-Man 3 and Superman – Manhattan

Broadhurst Theatre

Broadhurst Theatre

The Broadhurst Theatre is located in the theatre district of Times Square in Manhattan. This theatre is one of too many to think of within a couple of streets. But this theatre was used in Spider-Man 3 as the theatre where Mary Jane Watson performed. You know, the one where Peter Parker was always too busy to go watch her play.

Inside Grand Central Terminal

Inside Grand Central Terminal

This is the lair of Lex Luthor from the Christopher Reeves era Superman movies. It is a great place and has a very gothic look to it. It is by far one of the two best looking subway stations we seen along with Penn Station. Definitely a great place to film any movie, especially when it is used as the lair for Superman’s greatest foe.

Ghostbusters – Lower Manhattan and Central Park

Fire Station logo with Ghost

Fire Station logo with Ghost

There it is. The one place I had to see and I did not waste anytime doing it. The first full day we spent in NYC was spent exploring the lower side of Manhattan, which included the Financial District, SOHO, and TriBeCa, the neighborhood where the Hook & Ladder 8 Fire Station was found on North Moore St. This fire station was the sight where the greatest comedy-horror was filmed. Great sight to see, but that was not it for Ghostbusters sights.

New York Public Library

New York Public Library

The New York Public Library was used for many filming locations but I best remember it as the sight of the paranormal throwing the cards from the card catalog all over. This is one massive library and has some of the best architecture in the city. Interesting note however, the inside shots from Ghostbusters were not filmed inside this library. They only used the exterior.

Spook Central

Spook Central

The apartment where Dana Barrett (Sigourney Weaver) lived and was haunted by the ghosts lies on Central Park West right across from Central Park and just a couple of blocks away from The Dakota, the apartment building where John Lennon was killed. When we went there was some construction going on but that did not bother me. It is a massive building and definitely has a creepy vibe just from viewing the outside of it. Across the street in Central Park was the location of Tavern on the Green, the restaurant that Rick Moranis ran to and beat on the glass. After an extensive search and some online browsing, I am pretty sure that the place does not exist anymore. If I’m wrong, it is not for lack of effort.

NY INK – SOHO

Wooster Street Social Club

Wooster Street Social Club

My last NYC sight is the Wooster Street Social Club, home of the TV series NY Ink. The location is in the SOHO area, not far from Little Italy. It was cool to see the shop. They were closed when we went but that was alright. One cool thing about the place however was the picture of Christopher Walken on the door with the writing “We Accept Walkens” underneath it.

The Office – Scranton, PA

Scene from the opening of The Office

Scene from the opening of The Office

This shot of the “Welcome to Scranton” sign from the opening credits of The Office was faithfully recreated in the Mall at Steamtown on Lackawanna Ave. The mall was mentioned several times on the show but this was the only thing in the mall related to the series. Besides that, the mall was not at all what I expected.

Poor Richard's Pub

Poor Richard’s Pub

The bar of choice for the employees at Dunder Mifflin is Poor Richard’s. The bar is located inside of South Side Bowl, a bowling alley with plenty of lanes, pool tables, a diner, and more. The bar was just as I expected. It had a dark atmosphere, great beer selection, and, of course, memorabilia from The Office. I recommend it to anyone in the area.

Friday the 13th – Blairstown, NJ

Camp No-Be-Bo-Sco

Camp No-Be-Bo-Sco

The campground from the original Friday the 13th. This is the camp where Pamela Voorhees stalked the counselors at Camp Crystal Lake to avenge her son’s drowning. Now most people associate this movie series with Jason, the aforementioned son, and his killing spree over the years, but this is the camp that started it all. This is where a young, unknown Kevin Bacon was killed. Thankfully it was only in the movie cause I’m not sure the world could have went on without Tremors.

Clerks and Chasing Amy – Red Bank, NJ

Banky and Holden apartment

Banky and Holden apartment

On top of Jay and Silent Bob’s Secret Stash was the apartment of Banky and Holden from Chasing Amy. It was also the studio for their comic books. Not much to see here. The store is amazing and I will get around to blogging pics from that, but this was a location, so here it is.

Jack's Music Shoppe

Jack’s Music Shoppe

I did not realize it until I saw the building, but across the street from the Secret Stash is this music store that was used in Chasing Amy. When Holden and Hooper are browsing through music, this is the place. I have been here twice but did not pick up on this until the second trip. When I saw the building, it just looked familiar and I researched it and found out my hunch was right. I have not been able to confirm it, but I am pretty sure that the steps to the left of the building are where Holden and Banky are talking after Banky sees Holden sleeping with Alyssa. (AUTHOR’S NOTE: After doing a little research, I am now sure that these were in fact the steps that Holden and Banky sat on having a heart to heart talk.)

Quick Stop

Quick Stop

The mecca. The place where it all began. And to think I did not even think we would see this. After checking out at the Secret Stash and mentioning we were from Louisiana, the guy gave us directions to the Quick Stop. The place where we first see Jay and Silent Bob, where Dante shouldn’t be, and the place where Caitlin had sex with a dead man. The inside of the store brings me right back into the movie. I was not expecting to see the place but I am so glad we got to go there. And right next door was RST Video, Randal worked, sometimes.

RST Video

RST Video

So there it is. That’s all the movie and TV series places I got to see up close and personal. To anyone that is a fan like I am and ever gets the chance to visit the area, I highly suggest it. Especially the Secret Stash for the Kevin Smith fans. Thankfully I have a wife that did not mind my want to see these places. Hell, she was even excited to see some of them. And I am even more thankful she didn’t divorce me once I showed how much a dork I am sometimes.

the D

