Here to Stay: Korn is back with a new album this fall

In 1993, the world of rock was changed by the unique sound of a new band from Bakersfield, CA. Korn released their self-titled debut album and created the sound that people now call Nu-metal. Korn featured Jonathan Davis on vocals, James “Munky” Shaffer and Brian “Head” Welch on guitars, Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu on bass and David Silveria on drums. They continued to put out quality music for the next few years that made them one of the best musical groups of the 1990’s. If you are a fan, you know their history. But this is about their future. And after 1o studio albums in 20 years, Korn has a new album coming soon for fans to enjoy.

The Paradigm Shift is set to be released on October 1, 2013 and will be their first album since 2011’s Dubstep-influenced The Path of Totality. It will also be their first album since reuniting with original guitarist Brian “Head” Welch, who left the band in 2005 (Silveria also left the band and Ray Luzier is the current drummer). Welch reunited with Korn earlier this year for some festival shows and has remained a part of the band since. I for one cannot wait to hear Welch’s guitar playing again. And I don’t have to wait too long.

The Paradigm Shift is not supposed to be Dubstep-influenced but rather heavier and more “in your face”. However, after noting this, techno artist Beta Traxx was working with Korn on a new song and said that it would sound “like the past and the future at the same time”. A few of the track titles have been released and some of them are “Love and Meth”, “Never Never”, and “Prey for Me”. Korn will be releasing the album independently and it is being produced by Don Gilmore.

I’m not sure what to expect just yet. I have loved Korn’s music since their debut, but even I admit they have released some lackluster music as of late, especially from the albums Untitled and Korn III: Remember Who You Are. While both albums had some good tracks, I just could not get into either like I wish I could have. I did enjoy The Path of Totality greatly. It was a great chance and reminded me of how they debuted by creating a new sound. But I want some good hard rock. And I hope that is what the new album brings.

Reginald Arvizu, Ray Luzier, Jonathan Davis, James Shaffer, Brian Welch

No matter what, Korn will always be my favorite band of all time. They came out when I was in my teenage years and have stuck with me throughout. They, to me, are like when the older generation first heard The Doors, The Rolling Stones, or The Who. Or whatever band it was that has made an impact on their life. No matter how old I get, they will be a part of me for life. For 20 years, Korn has helped change the rock scene. And now its time for the next 20 years. For more info on Korn and the new album, visit http://www.korn.com

 

the D

