Robocop: The Future of Law Enforcement

If you have viewed Blog 4 Dat’s Action One-Liners Tournament, then you know that one of the lines came from the future of law enforcement himself, Robocop. The original 1987 action film is a classic in the action world. A cop that was nearly killed in the line of duty is rebuilt as a half-human, half-cyborg law enforcer and is viewed as the future of law enforcement. But when he begins to remember his past life, he sets about to avenge those that took his life, including the crooked people that run the police office.

The film was a hit when it was released and spawned a few sequels. But now, just like with most older films, it is getting the remake treatment and is set to be released in February 2014 (the poster above shows the old release date). It will be a reboot of the series and keep the same plot as the original. My question though is not about how good the movie will be though. My question is this: What have they done with Robocop?

This Robocop looks like something straight out of Judge Dredd! I can’t believe they altered his appearance so much. I can already say that I am not a fan of this look. What was wrong with the original Robocop? I thought he looked pretty badass. Why did he need to change? This looks more like a straight robot with a human mouth than something built around a human. Maybe I’m being tough here, but I am already just disappointed with the look. I can only hope that the acting and the story make up for this new look Robocop.

Nonetheless, the movie will feature Joel Kinnaman (Easy Money, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) as Peter Murphy/Robocop, Gary Oldman (Dark Knight trilogy) as Dr. Robert Norton, the man who created Robocop, and Michael Keaton (Beetlejuice, Batman) as Raymond Sellars, the CEO of OmniCorp. The film also features Samuel L. Jackson, Abbie Cornish, Jay Baruchel, and Jackie Earle Haley.

The acting is definitely top-notch. I’m sure it can beat the original. That would be hard-pressed to do. There may be better known actors in this version, but the original is classic. And trying to redo the look of the classic original is a brave thing to do. I won’t pass too much judgement on the movie. I’ll wait until February to make a final decision. It’s that I just can’t get over this new look. But for the sake of Detroit, I hope it is good. That damn city needs some good news right about now.

 

the D

