Blog 4 Dat Style: The Best Action Movie One Liner Tournament Part 5

images

Missed Part 1 Part 2  or Part 3 of the bracket? Click the links to revisit the tournament setup and round 1 action! Want to check out round two in Part 4? Click the link!

Let’s go straight to the action.

Round of 8

Kill Bracket Championship!

a

1. “Hasta la vista, baby.” Terminator 2 – Versus – 2. “You ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?” Batman

Schwarzenegger in his prime delivers in Terminator 2, battered and nearly broken by the T1000, a one-liner that transformed the Terminator Arnold was playing to a more humanistic character. Arnold’s not nearly as robotic as before, and he blows the T1000 into smithereens.

The final time you hear, “You ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?” in Batman, Batman is actually delivering the line to the Joker.

It’s Batman’s vengeance put into words, ironically stolen from the Joker, which turns into a fist that he embeds into the Joker’s teeth. Three times this phrase mentioned. All powerful, yet with different contexts.

In a close and fun matchup, taking it 2-1… Winner: “You ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?”

The WTF Bracket Championship!

c

1. “Yippee-ki-yay, motherfucker.” Die Hard – Versus – 2. “This is Sparta!” 300

Two distinctively different sayings when killing someone. The two actors also had different volumes on this one. One was a snarky, “I got you” type of remark. The other was declaring war and speaking not only for himself, but for his people. I flip/flopped on this one a few times, holding the deciding vote on this one.

Taking it 2-1 and moving to the Final Four… Winner: “Yippee-ki-yay, motherfucker.”

The Comedy Bracket Championship!

b

4. “I’ll be back.” The Terminator -Versus – 3. “Go ahead, make my day.” Sudden Impact 

As the brackets got smaller, the decisions became more tougher. Not only were we voting for the best line, but in a way it represents who you are and what makes you blood pump. “I’ll be back” in a sense means that you’ll take care of business, but later. “Go ahead, make my day,” means fuck with me and see what happens, I dare ya. I’ll enjoy this.

With Dirty Harry as the trigger man, you have to take the one liner seriously. In a close one, moving on with a score of 2-1… Winner: Go ahead, make my day.”

Wild Card Bracket Championship!

d

1. “Say Hello to my Little Friend!” Scarface – Versus – 3. “You talkin’ to me?” Taxi Driver

Deniro. Pachino. What more else can you say? Deniro explodes onto the scene with his rendition of Travis Bickle. Al Pachino made a cult character, giving the line an automatic Cuban accent when you say it. In NYC, “You talkin’ to me?” is not just a saying, but an attitude. Even with his breakout performance, Deniro is no match for my little friend.

Say-Hello-To-My-Little-Friend_large

Blowing the competition away 3-0… Winner: “Say Hello to my Little Friend!”

The Final Four is set. Check in tomorrow to see who is the winner of the Blog 4 Dat Style: The Best Action Movie One Liner Tournament is!

The Wrench

