Fast Food Friday: McDonald’s Mighty Wings

When I was asked to write for Blog4Dat, I really didn’t have any idea what I was going to write about.  Being the resident (self-proclaimed) fast-foodie of the group, I have decided to dedicate Fridays to new menu items available at fast food restaurants in the area.  I will attempt to release one once a week.  I will only be commenting on a handful of restaurants because we only have a few near my work:  Subway, KFC, Taco Bell, Burger King and McDonald’s.  There’s a chance that I will be able to do others but don’t count on it.  So here goes blog 1 of the new series …

McDonald’s Mighty Wings

Wow, chicken on a bone from a fast food joint.  I was skeptical at first but intrigued.  First off, they are real deal wings.  Real meat on a bone.  No pink slime or whatever its called.  Real chicken wings, breaded and fried.  The meat was juicy and not dry at all, and tore off the bone easily.  The breading was crispy, which was the real shocker as fast food chicken can get soggy, but as a whole they were very good.  The spice was just right, too.  Even though I’m from South Louisiana, I really don’t like super spicy food.  Even the Spicy McChicken can get too spicy for me.  These were spiced perfectly.  They are served with a Creamy Ranch sauce but, in my opinion, it’s not needed.  My only complaint is that they were a bit greasy.  It may have just been this first try, or maybe they don’t have the technique down yet.  I don’t know, but they are quite tasty.  They are sold in packs of 3, 5 or 10 pieces and the combo is available as a 5 piece with fries and a drink.

