Fast Food Friday: Taco Bell Fiery Doritos Locos Taco

This week, I have chosen to review the Fiery Doritos Locos Taco from Taco Bell.  This one was a toughy for me.  While I liked the idea of mixing Doritos and Tacos, the flavors were confusing to me.  The Nacho Cheese one came first and I laughed on first bite.  Ranch followed and just made much more sense as a Supreme taco with the sour cream adding to the ranch flavor profile.  This new Fiery is probably my favorite of the three.  I was in the camp of “Taco Bell using Doritos to sell tacos” as a gimmick, but I really like this one.  They appear to have used the Volcano Taco shell for this implementation and it was a good choice.  The heat comes through nicely, and the lime flavor was a little more prominent than I expected.  It seems like the “flavor powder” on the outside was only lime and little else, while the shell itself had the heat.  I got it as a supreme so there was sour cream and tomatoes on it as well.  The sour cream mellowed the heat just a tiny bit and made the taco more enjoyable.

Antacid Rating:  4 out of 5 antacids

