A review of Korn’s new album, The Paradigm Shift

"The Paradigm Shift" is out now!

“The Paradigm Shift” is out now!

Korn’s newest album, The Paradigm Shift, is out now and fans of Korn should not be disappointed. While some of the band’s more recent releases have not been what fans have wanted to hear, I think there 11th studio album will please new and old fans of Korn alike. I can say that I have listened to it twice and have been impressed with the album as a whole.

The Paradigm Shift is reminiscent of older Korn albums like Issues and Untouchables while mixing in some of the new sound they ushered in on The Path of Totality. But as I say that, I should note that while there is some dub-step influence, it is not too much. It is just enough to add a nice variation in some songs. But with this release, Korn has made it clear that they are far from done.

As for the band, they sound great together once again. Jonathan Davis’s vocals are really good. He sounds refocused and reinvigorated. While the lyrics are not as dark as earlier albums, the lyrics still bring to mind hardships and the darkness that can affect all of us in life. Fieldy is back slapping the bass like no one else can. Munky and Head playing together again is a great sound that I have missed too long. Together they have some great riffs throughout and bring to mind a more experienced and mature version of themselves. And what I think is maybe the best part of the sound as a whole is Ray Luzier on drums. I liked former drummer David as much as everyone else but Ray’s playing sounds great and makes it easy to not miss David.

Overall, The Paradigm Shift is a quality Korn album that I am glad the band has delievered. It has made it clear why they are one of the greatest bands of the past 20 years. I know there are people that will not like it and say they want to hear the Korn sound from the first two albums. But the way I see it is that that was a different time for the band and they have grown. I love the early releases as much as everyone else, but the only way to stay relevant is to grow and Korn shows that on this album. They have managed to mix old with new to create a great sound and show why they are one of the best. In my opinion, this is Korn’s best release since Follow the Leader, their third album. So, if you haven’t already, check it out. You shouldn’t be disappointed.

TOP TRACKS: “Prey for Me”, “Never Never”, “Love & Meth”, “Punishment Time”, “Lullaby for a Sadist”

 

the D

