Dardevil: Reviewing the Netflix Series

img_1413
On April 10, Netflix and Marvel released the long-awaited 13 episode Daredevil series for us fans to mass consume. This series is the first of five planned series and is a new vehicle for Marvel to display more characters that aren’t getting their own blockbuster films. But the positive reception of the series has already led to a second Daredevil series being greenlit for next year. But while every review seems positive, there were some things that I didn’t like with the show.

First, the series began really slow. I know that they had time to cover a lot of details with 13 episodes that were all just short of an hour, but things were just too slow for me at times. There were even a few moments that I started to fall asleep. But there was a moment that the show picked up and kept me glued to the TV.

Secondly, I wasn’t a big fan of some of the casting choices. Well, at least at times I didn’t. Deborah Ann Woll as Karen Page seemed a little too much like Woll as Jessica Hamby from True Blood. She resembled that troubled and scared character too much at times for me to really like her in the role. And I liked True Blood, but I don’t want to see the same character in both shows. And while she wasn’t exactly the same in both shows, it just seemed too similar at times in my opinion.

Also, at least until near the end of the series, I wasn’t a big fan of Elden Henson as Foggy Nelson or Vincent D’Onofrio as Wilson Fisk. Both characters seemed to lack something until a certain point in the series. Maybe it took what happened to them for their characters to really shine, but it just took a while for me to like them in their roles.

img_1402
However, there was a lot of positives about the show. Charlie Cox as Matt Murdock / Daredevil was great. I thought he was perfect in the role and I hope he is given the chance to continue on in the role in the show and (hopefully) a movie one day. He took a character that was ruined by a bad movie and made Daredevil relevent again.

Other good performances were Rosario Dawson as Claire Temple, Vondie Curtis-Hall as Ben Urich, and Scott Glenn as Stick. Dawson was good in her role as the woman who assists Daredevil in taking care of his wounds. Curtis-Hall’s version of Urich was very good. He didn’t come off like a tabloid journalist just looking for a scoop but instead like a man who first and foremost wants to help his city. And the Stick character was great and Glenn did a good job of playing the role. Glenn most recently did a great job on the show The Leftovers and he carried that performance over here.

Overall, the series was good. I would give it a B grade if I was a teacher. The story was good and I enjoyed it as a whole. But it dragged at times for me and I wish there had been some different casting choices.  But it was good overall and way better than the Daredevil movie that I had to go back and watch! I do look forward to a second season to see where it will go from here and the other Netflix series to come. I just hope that we can get more of this because these are good characters that deserve their own movies or series.

Now, does anyone want to attempt to fix Ghost Rider please?

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

