Movie Review: Daredevil

img_1411

I just finished the new Netflix Daredevil series last night and I was left wanting more. Unfortunately, the only other thing was to put in the 2003 Ben Affleck movie. And so I did and remembered just how bad that movie could be. And what’s worse is that I really used to like this movie so I won’t be as harsh as some.

Daredevil was directed by Mark Steven Johnson and starred Affleck in the title role, Jennifer Garner as Elektra Natchios, Michael Clarke Duncan as Kingpin, and Colin Farrell as Bullseye. The film was released after the hype from movies like Spider-Man and X-Men, but failed to connect like those films did.

The story itself wasn’t that bad. The problem I have with the movie is the cheesiness throughout. And there is a lot of it! First, let’s look at Daredevil himself. I generally like Affleck in movies, but this performance was just bad. From cheesy one-liners to showing him gearing up and flinging his weapons around, Daredevil was too campy for me.

img_1412
Then there was Bullseye. A deadly assassin that was sent to kill Daredevil. Well, this great villain was reduced to a crazy-eyed nutcase that seemed like something out of a cartoon. And once again, I like Colin Farrell, but the portrayal of this character was awful.

And actually, come to think of it, all the damn characters were pretty over-the-top and just bad. Elektra was alright but nothing special. I’m still wondering how she got her own movie! But I guess that Dardevil was successful enough at the time.

Kingpin was ok too but I’m sure the late Michael Clarke Duncan wanted to forget that role. I didn’t really like Joe Pantoliano as Ben Urich as he just seemed really slimy. The best part of the movie was Jon Favreau as Foggy Nelson. And we’ll, maybe Coolio in the Director’s Cut of the film!

Overall though, I think the problem with Daredevil was mostly with the script. I think if the movie focused more on the darker material from the comics, it would have been a good movie. But they decided to go with more thrills, excitement, and wise-cracking characters and it hurt the film in the end. But in fairness, Marvel had yet to hit their stride. While the X-Men and Spidey had achieved some success, most of the other Marvel movies didn’t. Remember Fantastic Four, The Punisher, and Ghost Rider? All of these characters have the possibility of having great films. Fantastic Four and Dardevil are having a revival this year. Maybe the others will too soon enough. And while I enjoyed the TV series, I hope Dardevil gets another shot on the big screen. It is a great character that deserves it.

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

