Movie Review: Killer Mermaid

 

img_1054

Being a fan of B-movie horror films, I just had to sit down and watch Killer Mermaid, a.k.a. Nymph. It had all the signs of a horribly great schlock movie: bad title, little-known actors, and horrible-looking CGI. This was supposed to be the movie that is so bad that it is good. But, while it definitely won’t win any awards, it wasn’t as bad as I expected it to be.

Actually, the title Killer Mermaid is a little deceiving. The titular creature is not fully seen or doesn’t kill anyone until the very end of the movie. It is actually someone else doing the dirty work for the mermaid for the majority of the film. The movie was actually very reminiscent of I Know What You Did Last Summer and creature features like Piranha or Lake Placid.

Killer Mermaid starts off with a young couple who are about to do the naughty when the guy jumps into the water and the girl is then killed by someone with a large hook. The story then moves along to two young American women who are on a trip to the Mediterranean and are soon joined by another woman and two guys. They take a boat out to an abandoned fortress where they want to explore the ruins. But when they see an old man dumping human body parts into a well, they must fight to stay alive. But the man is only a part of the problem as there is a killer mermaid living in a lair beneath the fortress.

img_1056

 

I know that the story may sound very cheesy and it is definitely not a movie for everyone. But it is worth a watch for people like me who enjoy almost any horror movie. Killer Mermaid far exceeded my expectations and is better than most straight to video releases. It does suffer from some bad acting at times and the CGI is not really good either, but it was a fun movie to watch and I think could be enjoyable to fans of the genre.

And while there is some bad acting, there is also a share of good acting. Kristina Klebe (Rob Zombie’s Halloween) plays Kelly, one of the main characters and does a great job in trying to be the sensible one of the group. Natalie Burn (The Expendables 3) plays Lucy, Kelly’s friend and the more adventurous of the two. And legendary Italian actor Franco Nero plays Niko, the old fisherman who no one knows whether to trust or be afraid of. Nero is a veteran actor with many credits to his name including such films as Die Hard 2, the original Django, Django Unchained, and even Cars 2.

Some of the other cast members were good in their roles but, as I said before, some were a little rough around the edges. But the overall quality of this film is much better than I expected and surprised me. And I think it could surprise others also if they do not the title of the movie fool them. Hopefully more people will see this and can respect the job the filmmakers did with what I am sure was very limited resources.

But if not, I could understand. I don’t know why I watch the movies I watch sometime. It’s not like everyone will watch the movies I find intriguing. As a matter of fact, I have the reputation among friends for seeing the strangest things but yet not seeing some of the classics. But taste is a unique thing, so if Killer Mermaid grabs your attention, give it a shot. If it doesn’t, then maybe something else I’ve written about will.

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

