Movie Review: The Cabin in the Woods

img_1541
Last night I took a break from my Marvel marathon of movies and revisited The Cabin in the Woods, a 2012 comedy-horror from Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon. I had originally watched it when it was released and didn’t fee too strongly about it either way. If anything, I disliked it more than I liked it. But I was recently listening to the Horrorhound podcast and heard them saying how much they enjoyed it. So, I picked up the Blu Ray and gave it another shot.

The Cabin in the Woods is about five friends who take a trip to a relative’s isolated cabin to enjoy a little time away. In this group is the jock Curt (Chris Hemsworth), his girlfriend Jules (Anna Hutchison), her friend Dana (Kristen Connolly), Curt’s friend Holden (Jesse Williams), and, of course, the stoner friend Marty (Fran Kranz). But their fun trip is cut short when they find a basement full of old relics that will open up a world of monsters and demons that will hunt them down.

But all of this is set in place by a mysterious company who has cameras on the group at all times and is watching their every move. They are located in a facility and trying to lure these kids right into their deaths. In the end, the surviving kids realize that the entire cabin is a trap and there is every kind of evil imaginable underneath it, from giant snakes to zombies and even Sasquatch. But they revolt and turn these creatures loose on the people that are trying to kill them.

The Cabin in the Woods
After watching the movie again, I definitely gained more appreciation for it. They did a great job making an original movie that also poked fun at the horror movies of the past. It was great to see them taking shots at the horror movies of the past, but also using them for their story. I couldn’t believe I didn’t like this film better the first time I saw it.

In a time when everything is remade or rebooted or has a sequel, the originality of The Cabin in the Woods was refreshing. It is just one of those movies that I can rewatch and never get bored. There were no award-winning performances or any scene that stole the show. It was just a solid, original movie made by two guys that are clearly fans as well as writers and directors. And that is good enough for me.

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

