Artist Spotlight: Smile Empty Soul

image

 

Smile Empty Soul:

Sean Danielsen- vocals, guitar

Jake Kilmer- drums

Ryan Martin- bass

Discography:

Smile Empty Soul -2003

Anxiety– 2005

Vultures–  2006

Consciousness– 2009

3’s– 2012

Chemicals– 2013

My Top Ten Songs:

1. Here’s To Another

2. Balance

3. Stay Alive

4. Vultures

5. Afterlife

6. Black and Blue

7. Fight of a Suburban Couple

8. Silhouettes

9. The Other Side

10. Faker

My Thoughts:

I first heard of Smile Empty Soul when I saw them open for Seether and Trapt at the House of Blues in New Orleans before their debut CD was even released. I loved their performance and couldn’t wait to buy their album.

I was working at a music store at the time, so as soon as it was released I picked it up. Their self-titled debut was a fury of energy and emotion that I connected with immediately. They instantly became one of my favorite bands.

I have stayed by the band through the years, buying every CD they have released and seeing them live when I get the opportunity. I have seen them play three times since that first concert and had the opportunity to see singer Sean Danielsen’s solo show in my hometown. I have even purchased Sean’s two solo EP’s and love them just as much as the band’s full albums.

Sean Danielsen playing a solo show at the Brickhouse in Houma, LA. Despite a crowd very small crowd, Danielsen didn't cancel the event and instead played for the fans who did show up and talked with everyone afterward.

Sean Danielsen playing a solo show at the Brickhouse in Houma, LA. Despite a crowd very small crowd, Danielsen didn’t cancel the event and instead played for the fans who did show up and talked with everyone afterward.


Smile Empty Soul has continued to release great music and play shows for their fans. And even after the shows, they are willing to hang out and meet their fans. It is a rare thing to see a band as humble as Smile Empty Soul and that is probably the biggest reason they have such a loyal fan base. And as far as I am concerned, I will be a part of that fan base for as long as I am on this Earth.

Their music is an inspiration for those who can relate to the topics in each song. I for one have felt the emotions in the lyrics and music many times. No matter how I feel, I can put on any Smile Empty Soul and escape the outside world just by listening to their music. The art they create is truly amazing and will live with me forever. I made a list of my ten favorite songs earlier, but they are a band that I can listen to every CD straight through and enjoy every song.

For more on Smile Empty Soul, you can visit their website here. Thanks for reading.

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

