WWE Battleground: Preview and Predictions

image

 

The WWE finally comes back to PPV this Sunday with Battleground, live from St. Louis. It has been a while since the last PPV, but I honestly am not too excited about this show. Outside of two matches, I’m not sure I will even be paying too much attention. And with that said, I’ll get right into the predictions.

1. Singles match for Barrett’s King of the Ring crown: R-Truth vs. King Barrett

This is by far the worst “rivalry” going on in WWE. I’m not sure what they are doing with this. Hell, they probably don’t know why this is even happening. But it is. And I will just make it simple and say Barrett keeps his crown. Winner: King Barrett

2. Tag Team match for the WWE Tag Team Championship: The Prime Time Players (C) vs. The New Day

The New Day was running strong and gaining heat with the championships. Then, they lost the belts to the Prime Time Players and have been stuck in a rut since then. I don’t understand why the belts were taken from them, but I hope they can get them back and try to regain their heel heat. Remember,  The New Day was one of the hottest things on RAW on for a while! Winner: The New Day

3. Singles Match: Randy Orton vs. Sheamus

WWE Battleground is live from St. Louis which means Randy Orton is on the card. And for what feels like the 264th time, he will face Sheamus. This is another match that I am not sure why it is happening. It just seems like filler. I guess Sheamus needs the win more here though. He is the Money in the Bank contract holder and hasn’t really had a good, decisive win since then. But I won’t be shocked if Orton goes over in his hometown. Winner: Sheamus

4. Singles Match: Bray Wyatt vs. Roman Reigns

This feud has been built relatively well and I am looking forward to seeing what happens here. Reigns was getting the huge push earlier this year but has cooled off since. Wyatt also finds himself in a feud that he ultimately loses. I really don’t know where this will go, but I expect it to continue at Summerslam. Winner: Bray Wyatt

5. Singles match for the United States Championship: John Cena (C) vs. Kevin Owens

Now that Owens lost his NXT Championship, I can’t imagine that he won’t win the U.S. Championship this Sunday. But then again I can see him losing because it is John Cena. All I do know is that the Cena-Owens rivalry has been going on for a while now and I think it’s about time for a change of scenery for both men. Winner: Kevin Owens

6. Singles match for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship: Seth Rollins (C) vs. Brock Lesnar

The main event match of the night has Brock Lesnar returning to the ring to face Rollins with the title one the line. Lesnar has not been in a match since Wrestlemania 31 (except for that squash match against Kofi in Tokyo) and he looks to demolish Rollins and win his championship back. But Seth Rollins needs this match more. He has held the title for most of this year, but has very few good wins. He has looked more like a chump than a champ most of the time. And I do believe he will retain the championship, but I’m sure it will be  because of some sort of distraction or interference. Regardless of who wins, I just hope this match is good enough to make up for having to sit through the rest of the show! Winner: Seth Rollins

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

