NXT Takeover: Brooklyn Thoughts and Predictions

image

The WWE is putting all their chips on the table for this year’s SummerSlam weekend. The Barclays Center is Brooklyn is not only hosting the WWE’s second biggest PPV of the year, the arena is sold out for the stars of NXT on Saturday night. NXT Takeover: Brooklyn is not just another special event for the brand. It is by far the biggest event for NXT and demonstrates how big the brand has grown. And the card is loaded with 10 matches that will give fans another great night of wrestling.

1. Chad Gable & Jason Jordan & Dash & Dawson vs. Zack Ryder & Mojo Rawley & Enzo Amore & Colin Cassady – Eight-man Tag Team Match

This looks to be a match made to get as many NXT guys on the show as possible, which is great in my opinion. I have to admit that I do not know too much about some of these guys, but I don’t have to for it to be a good match. But in the end, I hope Ryder gets the win in Brooklyn, so his team should pick up the three-count. He deserves at least that, right?

2. Apollo Crews vs. Tye Dillinger – Singles Match

This is the debut match for Crews, formerly known as Uhaa Nation. So let’s be honest, the big prospect is highly likely to go over. So no matter how long Dillinger has been around, Apollo Crews is probably getting the win.

3. Dana Brooke vs. Emma vs. Becky Lynch vs. Charlotte – Fatal Four-way Match

Becky and Charlotte are two of four wrestlers on the card pulling double duty and wrestling on the SummerSlam card as well. But, I like adding them onto this card to put together this match with two other NXT women. Emma has been on the main roster before, but her recent run in NXT has been far better. And Brooke is a raw, but hopeful talent that should benefit from the experience in this match. In the end though, I have to pick one woman and I’ll go with Emma. I have no reason why, I just think she might get the win here. But it wouldn’t surprise me if it was Dana Brooke either.

4. Bull Dempsey vs. Elias Samson – Singles Match

Samson is another NXT wrestler that I don’t really know, but I do know that Dempsey is a big guy that NXT could use as a heel on their roster in the near future. With few heels at the top of the card, he could be a good challenger to Balor or even Samoa Joe. For that, I think Bull gets the win.

5. Eva Marie vs. Carmella – Singles Match

Eva Marie is finally getting in the ring instead of just being on Total Divas. And I could care less. From seeing her on TV before, I’m not all that interested and I hope they don’t give her the win, so I am picking Carmella. That’s all I care to say about this match. Oh, and go get a new beer when it comes on so you don’t miss something better.

image

6. Baron Corbin vs. Samoa Joe – Singles Match

If we are all honest, we know that Samoa Joe is here to help boost some of NXT’s younger talents. I personally don’t think Joe will ever really have a huge run on the main roster and will stay in NXT. And I’m fine with that. But that doesn’t mean he will lose every match. But this one, well, this one he will lose to Corbin, a big guy that will probably enter the main roster sooner rather than later.

7. Blake & Murphy (C) vs. The Vaudevillains – Tag Team Match for the NXT Tag Team Championship

I have never been a fan of Blake and Murphy but I have to admit that they are a good tag team. But The Vaudevillains, Aiden English and Simon Gotch, are long overdue for a chance to hold the belts. I like their gimmick and I like their work, so I’m picking them to become the new NXT Tag Team Champions.

8. Sasha Banks (C) vs. Bayley – Singles Match for the NXT Women’s Championship

“The Boss” Sasha Banks will defend her NXT Women’s Championship the night before she makes her main roster PPV debut. Her opponent is Bayley, who has been around and never had the opportunity to hold the title. Usually when an NXT wrestler makes their way to the main roster, they will drop their title soon after. And I do think Banks will lose, but not really because of that. I think Bayley truly deserves to be the champion and she could be the next woman in NXT to be on top and work with the next group of women coming up. And for that reason, I think Bayley will be the new NXT Women’s Champion at the end of the night.

9. Tyler Breeze vs. Jushin Thunder Liger – Singles Match

Breeze has been with NXT for a while and has had some great matches recently. But this match against Liger could be one of the biggest. He gets to wrestle a legend who has never worked for the WWE before. Liger will make his debut for the company and should a whole new audience why is such a legend in the business. I have seen Liger before when he worked with WCW and can’t wait to see him once again. And I think unlike Sting, Liger will pick up the win in his first, and maybe only, appearance for the company.

10. Finn Balor (C) vs. Kevin Owens – Ladder Match for the NXT Championship

Before Owens gets the ring against Cesaro on Sunday, he will have the opportunity to win back the NXT Championship in a ladder match against Finn Balor. These two put together a hell of a match on the WWE Network special The Beast from the East in Tokyo. And I think this one will top that match. Balor and Owens will now battle with a ladder brought into play and they are sure to excite the audience beyond belief. As for the finish though, I think Balor will retain and begin to take on newcomers while Owens continues to make his way through the main roster. I think it is the best result for both and no matter what, the fans will win when these two guys are finished in the ring.

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

 

