A Review of Scream: The TV Series

image

One of the tag lines that was used to promote Scream: The TV Series was “You’ll never see it coming”, and that couldn’t have been better said. I seriously had my doubts about how good a Scream TV series could be at all, much less on MTV. I mean, this is the channel that despite having “music” in its title plays less music than most other channels. I haven’t enjoyed anything MTV has put out in over 10 years and I didn’t expect to like this either. And then, the first trailer was released and it informed audiences that the Ghostface mask from the Scream film series was gone and the killer on the television series would be wearing a new mask. I can easily say that I was not impressed at all and worried that it would be a flop. But I still gave the show a chance and I am glad I did because I ended up pleasantly surprised.

The ten-episode first season revolved around the murders of a group of high school students by a mysterious person shrouded in a black robe and mask. Just like in the film series, the show laid out all of the characters and their stereotypes. There was the final girl, the horror movie buff, the jocks, the outcast, the mysterious kid, and, of course, the bitch. And there was also a backstory laid about a man from the past, who has a connection with one of the kids.

image

I don’t want to go into too much detail as I don’t want to give any spoilers, but the series followed the mapped-out parody style made famous by the films, but twisted it to make it work for a TV series. I was pleasantly surprised by the series overall and I have to admit that I am looking forward to the next season.

If I had any complaints it would be with some of the acting, but I’m not watching this series to witness any award-winning performances. I did feel like an old man watching these kids on the screen and wondering what some of their vernacular meant. But, maybe I am just getting too old to understand that part of any series or movie, but that is no fault of the cast or crew.

The cast did a good job. The production looked great. And the story was written very well. They all contributed to making a good show that I enjoyed, even though I know I am not in MTV’s target audience. But what I am is a fan of horror films and the Scream film series. And that was enough for me to want to give the show a chance. And I am glad I did and hope that the series can continue on in the future.

Daryl Karpinski Jr.

