Movie Review: Goosebumps

image

With the south Louisiana rain killing any outside festivities on Halloween, me and my wife took the entire family to see the Goosebumps movie. I was doubtful that I would enjoy it, but knew that our kids would love it. However, I walked out of the theater enjoying what I had just seen probably as much as them.

The movie revolves around the literary work of R.L. Stine. His “Goosebumps” books have been a favorite of young kids for many years. And the movie did a great job of tying many of his works together for a very fun and entertaining film.

In the movie, Jack Black plays Stine and his daughter, Hannah (Odeya Rush), has a thing for Zach (Dylan  Minnette), a new neighbor. But Stine disapproves and when Zach breaks into their house to check on her, he accidentally unleashes all the monsters from the pages of Stine’s books. Now, with all the monsters on the loose, Zach, his friend Champ (Ryan Lee), Stine, and Hannah must band together to stop the author’s evil creations from taking over their town.

image

Goosebumps was an excellent movie that everyone in the family can enjoy. It was suitable for most young children and was made for adults to enjoy as well. It had good dialogue and plenty of laughs which kept my attention the whole time. I was pleasantly surprised and would definitely watch it again, which I’m sure I’ll have to do when it comes out on DVD!

Daryl Karpinski, Jr.

