Movie Review: Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens

image

WARNING: If you have not seen Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens and do not want to read any spoilers, this article should NOT be read! I am giving my review and thoughts of the movie, so do not read if you don’t want things to be ruined. And if you haven’t seen the movie yet, what are you waiting for?

The wait is long gone and fans of the Star Wars saga have now had almost three weeks to see Episode VII as many times as they please. I went see the movie on Christmas night and fulfilled my fanboy needs. And, just like everyone else I have talked to, I was not let down.

The Force Awakens was a great film that tied together the older films while also creating a new story for fans to watch unfold. There were obviously references and plot points taken from the original trilogy, but also nods to the polarizing prequel trilogy. I was definitely pleased with the overall story and happy with the direction that this trilogy is taking.

image

The story of Finn and Rey was great and I cannot wait to see how their characters grow throughout the trilogy. I was also a fan of Poe Dameron as he seemed like he could possibly be this trilogy’s version of Han Solo. The new droid, BB-8, was good and is a nice addition of the beloved C-3PO and R2-D2. And, of course, the First Order villains of Kylo Ren, Snoke, and General Hux were fantastic. The character of Snoke is full of questions and the relationship between General Hux and Kylo Ren is an interesting one to watch. As for Ren himself, I cannot wait to see the path his character takes, both as Ren or even maybe as the man he was once known as. And for what is worth, I was also a fan of Captain Phasma as she added something new to the usual storm trooper.

And let’s not forget the stars of the original trilogy that returned. Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, Han Solo, and Chewbacca were all a welcomed sight. Solo and Chewbacca haven’t lost a step but it will be different going forward after the death of Solo. Princess Leia is now taking on another role but is still the same strong woman she portrayed in the original films. And even though Luke was not in the film for long at all, his role in this trilogy has only begun and more is sure to come from Skywalker.

image

The movie is a success financially and overall with fans and I am one of those happy fans. But with The Force Awakens already locked into my memory, I can’t wait for Episode VIII to come out so that hopefully some questions I have can be answered or at least can become a little clearer. What is Kylo Ren’s endgame? Is he truly a villain? Or is he a pawn? Or he is sacrificing himself for the survival of the Jedi? What is Rey’s past all about? Will Finn learn anything of his birth parents? Who is Snoke? Is he Darth Plagueis or not? What has become of some of the planets visited in other movies? And, of course,  what will Luke Skywalker do now that he has been found?

I left the theater with more questions than answers but that is part of why I love these films. And despite the questions, I was amazed and pleased with the work done on The Force Awakens. I have to thank George Lucas for allowing this story to be told and J. J. Abrams for working his directorial magic once again!

