WWE Clash of Champions 2016: Preview & Predictions

1. Alicia Fox vs. Nia Jax – Pre-show singles match

This is Nia Jax’s PPV debut and she will face her first non-jobber in Alicia Fox. The two faced off on Raw not that long ago and it ended abruptly when Jax speared Fox through the ringside barricade. I don’t expect a lot in this match as I am sure it will be a spot to continue to put Nia Jax over as a monster heel in the women’s division.

Winner: Nia Jax

2. Cesaro vs. Sheamus – Final match in a Best of 7 series; series tied 3-3

At one point I was a huge fan of Cesaro and thought he deserved better. But I have slowly but surely cared less about him and this entire series. I already don’t care much for Sheamus and Cesaro has been boring to me as well lately. I don’t care really who wins but if it isn’t Cesaro, then I really don’t understand this feud.

Winner: Cesaro

3. Chris Jericho vs. Sami Zayn

This match was seemingly added to fill time and have a match that can maybe steal the show without a title on the line. Zayn picked up a huge win over Kevin Owens at Payback and has done nothing since then. Jericho is one of the best on Raw and this run has been one of his best. He is definitely at the top of his game but has no meaningful feud going on right now. This should be a great match and a good way to start building Zayn back up to eventually challenge Owens.

Winner: Sami Zayn

4. T. J. Perkins (C) vs. Brian Kendrick – Singles match for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship

The newly crowned Cruiserweight champion T. J. Perkins will defend his title for the first time against the veteran Brian Kendrick. Perkins won the title when he won the Cruiserweight Classic on the WWE Network and now must debut for Raw. Kendrick is a veteran that has been on WWE PPV’s before and is able to put on a great match. It should be a fun, entertaining match and Perkins should retain his title. But the biggest question about the Cruiserweight division is what the WWE will do with it going forward.

Winner: T. J. Perkins

5.The New Day (Kofi Kingston, Xavier Woods, and/or Big E) (C) vs. Karl Anderson & Luke Gallows – Tag Team match for the WWE Raw Tag Team Championship

The New Day have been champions for over a year and I have thought they would have lost them multiple times already. The last time they faced Gallows and Anderson I thought they would lose. But they did not and now I don’t know why they would lose now. But, with the tag team division split between the two brands, the depth of teams on Raw is small and I don’t know if any one else could make those titles meaningful. Therefore, I am going to pick Gallows and Anderson to upset The New Day once again and hope I can finally get this one right.

Winners: Luke Gallows and Karl Anderson

6. Charlotte (C) vs. Bayley vs. Sasha Banks – Triple Threat match for the WWE Raw Women’s Championship

Charlotte has to defend her title against two of the most popular women in the WWE right now but I don’t think it will matter. Bayley has been great since debuting on Raw and the fans love her. But I don’t think she will be getting the title right now. And Banks already had a brief run with the title and I don’t think it is time for her to regain the belt just yet. This triple threat seems like a way to put off the singles match between Charlotte and Sasha or Bayley until a bigger moment. And therefore I think Charlotte retains. This match also may lead to more friction between Banks and Bayley and Charlotte and Dana Brooke.

Winner: Charlotte

7. Rusev (C) vs. Roman Reigns – Singles match for the WWE United States Championship

Ok. I’m going to keep this short and simple. Their match at Summerslam didn’t actually happen due to Reigns attacking Rusev before the bell. Therefore, the rivalry continued but was put on the back burner. Then it picked up again and I still didn’t care much. I can’t see a Reigns victory meaning much so I am going to go with Rusev in this match. Actually, I’ll say Reigns will win but by DQ and Rusev will retain the title.

Winner: Roman Reigns (by DQ)

8. Kevin Owens (C) vs. Seth Rollins – Singles match for the WWE Universal Championship

At Summerslam, Finn Balor defeated Rollins to become the first ever Universal champion. But due to injury, he had to relinquish the title which led to a fatal four way match between Reigns, Rollins, Owens, and Big Cass to determine the new champion. And during that match, Triple H arrived and helped Rollins eliminate Reigns. Then, he turned on Rollins and handed the win to Owens. Now, Rollins is out to win the title and prove that Triple H’s decision to get behind Owens was a mistake. But I don’t think that will happen. Triple H has not been seen on TV since then which leads me to believe he will return at the PPV and further a rivalry with Rollins. And make sure that Owens retains his title, which he should do anyways.

Winner: Kevin Owens

Daryl Karpinski, Jr.

