Blog 4 Dat Style: The Best Action Movie One Liner Tournament Part 1

Image

Ladies and gentleman, boys and girls, children of all ages… well maybe not all ages on this one. Blog 4 Dat proudly presents to you our first single elimination tournament to answer the questions we all have in our heads… What is the most bad ass one liner in action movie history…ever. Our tournament had three contributors: myself (The Wrench), the D and Ben. We researched and came up with the best one liners, determined what constituted a one liner, determined if a movie was an action movie (or not in some instances), seeded the tournament into 4 brackets and voted on the results. The 4 brackets are themed: The WTF did he just say, Wildcard, Kill and Comedy. Without further ado, here is the tournament and results. What will be the best action movie one liner?

Honorable Mention:

These one liners were good enough to get noticed, but didn’t make the cut.

“No ticket.” Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

“Get off my plane!” Air Force One

“Now I have a machine gun… Ho-Ho-Ho.” Die Hard

Unknown

“Losers always whine about their best. Winners go home and fuck the prom queen.” The Rock

“Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?” Dirty Harry (Side note: This one slipped through the cracks somewhat and felt some controversy because the one liner aspect of it took a lot of buildup and dialogue that helped support it. Great and forever memorable scene in movie history, but Dirty Harry doesn’t make it here.)

“You shall not pass!” The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (Side note: LOTR fell into fantasy genre for us. Great movie, put just didn’t feel right to make this bracket.)

“May the Force be with you.” Star Wars (Side note: Same as LOTR.) images

“I’m gonna let ’em know that Dolemite is my name, and fuckin’ up motherfuckers is my game!” Dolemite

“There Can Be Only One.” Highlander

“I’ll hit the brakes, he’ll fly right by.” Top Gun

“Ready your breakfast and eat hearty, for tonight we dine in Hell!!” 300

“Can you dig it?” The Warriors

And now, the seeding of the Kill Bracket!

kill

1. “Hasta la vista, baby.” Terminator 2 – Versus – 8. “Leave anything for us? Just bodies.” Commando

2. “You ever dance with the devil in the pale moonlight?” Batman – Versus – 7. “Sounds like you’ve had a hard life. Yeah. Good thing it’s over.” The Condemned 

3. “I used to fuck guys like you in prison.” Road House – Versus – 6. “I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass… and I’m all out of bubblegum.” They Live (Author’s Note: Don’t Google “I used to fuck guys like you in prison.”)

4. “They may take our lives, but they’ll never take… OUR FREEDOM!” Braveheart – Versus – 5. “You’re the disease, and I’m the cure.” Cobra

Some pretty intriguing matchups and classic lines. Now, the Comedy Bracket.

comedy

1. “I’ll make him an offer he can’t refuse.” The Godfather – Versus – 8. “Enough is ENOUGH! I have had it with these motherfuckin’ snakes on this motherfuckin’ plane!” Snakes on a Plane

2. “The first rule of Fight Club is: you do not talk about Fight Club.” Fight Club – Versus – 7. “No, Mr. Bond, I expect you to die!” Goldfinger 

3. “Go ahead, make my day.” Sudden Impact – Versus – 6. “I’m too old for this shit.” Lethal Weapon 

4. “I’ll be back.” Terminator – Versus – 5. “Get away from her, you bitch!” Aliens

Another bracket full of memorable quotes. Up next, the WTF Bracket.

wtf

1. “Yippee-ki-yay, motherfucker” Die Hard – Versus – 8. “Dyin’ ain’t much of a living, boy.” The Outlaw Josey Wales

2. “This is Sparta!” 300 – Versus – 7. “This… is my boomstick!” Army of Darkness

3. “Warriors, Come Out to Play.” The Warriors – Versus – 6. “With great power comes great responsibility.” Spider-Man 

4. “Get to the choppa!” Predator – Versus – 5. “Call me ‘Snake’.” Escape from New York

These guys are nuts. Last but not least, the Wild Card Bracket.

wild card

1. “Say Hello to my Little Friend” Scarface – Versus – 8. “Dead or alive, you’re coming with me.” RoboCop

2. “Adrian!” Rocky – Versus – 7. “I feel the need… the need for speed!” Top Gun

3. “You talkin’ to me?” Taxi Driver – Versus – 6. “I love the smell of napalm in the morning.” Apocalypse Now

4. “Sweep the leg.” The Karate Kid  – Versus – 5. “Consider this a divorce.” Total Recall

There you have it folks. The brackets are set. Print your brackets! It’s Movie Madness! Tune in tomorrow to see the first round results!

The Wrench